General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at a plant in Lodi, California, the cereal is labeled gluten-free but actually contains wheat.
The recall affects Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios that were made in July. General Mills has said wheat flour was inadvertently used in a system that normally processes gluten-free oat flour.
Because wheat flour was used, These cereals are not gluten-free, and people with conditions like wheat allergies or celiac disease who consume it might suffer an allergic reaction or discomfort.
General Mills senior vice president and president of the cereal division, Jim Murphy, said, “I am embarrassed and truly sorry to announce today that we are recalling boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on several dates at our Lodi, California facility. Please know we’ll be working even harder to earn back your trust,” Murphy said in a statement. “We sincerely apologize to the gluten-free community and to anyone who may have been impacted.”
If you would like a refund or if you have further questions you can contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370. More information is available on the company’s web site.